Friday, March 7, 2014

2014 Boys A Division Tournament Pairings Released

The schedule and pairings have been released for the 2014 DecoTurf High School Tennis Team Championships Boys A Division presented by Subway. The 2014 tournament will feature 16 teams from nine different states including eight defending team State Champions.

The top half of the tournament bracket is highlighted by defending tournament and Illinois State Champion Hinsdale Central (Hinsdale, IL). The Red Devils return three of Illinois' top juniors Eddie Grabill, Martin Joyce, and Michael Lorenzini. Hinsdale Central outscored their tournament opponents 31-5 in 2013. Hinsdale Central will open tournament play against Jenks (Jenks, OK), Oklahoma Class 6A runner-up. Jenks is led by Oklahoma No. 2 singles semi-finalists Mitchell Worley. Missouri Class AA State Champion Rockhurst (Kansas City, MO) will make their first tournament appearence. The Hawklets led by Doubles State Champions John Nogalski and Jacob Moore will meet Baylor (Chattanooga, TN) in the opening round. Baylor is led by Pomona commit  Marko Mandic. 

The top half of the bracket also features Missouri Class A State Champion Mary Institute and County Day School (Saint Louis, MO). MICDS is led by Missouri's top ranked junior Joseph McAllister and top ranked freshman Rohit Chouhan. The Rams open tournament play against Tennessee Division II Class A State Champion Webb School of Knoxville (Knoxville, TN). Webb School is led by Tennessee Division II Class A state finalist Lorenzo Rollhauser and Tennessee's top ranked freshman Thomas Loaiza. Barron Collier (Naples, FL) back-to-back tournament runner-up will open play against Cardinal Gibbons (Raleigh, NC). Barron Collier, defending Florida Class 3A State Champion, is led by junior Alan Sweet. North Carolina Class 3A State Champion Cardinal Gibbons is led by 2013 All-American and North Carolina signee Robert Kelly and junior Matt Galush.

Two-time tournament champion New Trier (Winnetka, IL) returns to the tournament for the first time since winning back-to-back championships in 2011 & 2012. The Trevians are led by the nation's 6th ranked senior Thomas Fawcett, a Stanford signee, and DePaul signee Alex Galoustian. New Trier opens tournament play against R.J. Reynolds (Winston-Salem, NC), 2013 North Carolina Class 4A runner-up. North Carolina Class 4A Doubles state champion Jack Riazzi will lead the Deamons. The tournaments all-time winningest program Saint Xavier (Louisville, KY) will open tournament play against 2013 Georgia Class 3A State Champion Blessed Trinity (Roswell, GA). The defending Kentucky State Champion Tigers are led by Kentucky Singles state finalist Brandon Lancaster and Kentucky Doubles state finalists Coleman Cox and Nick Waldeck. Blessed Trinity is led by juniors Matt Ghering and Matt Marin. 

Spartanburg (Spartanburg, SC) will open tournament play against Edwardsville (Edwardsville, IL). The Vikings, a round of 16 finisher in South Carolina last season, are led by two of South Carolina's top freshman Spencer Brown and Chambers Easterling. Edwardsville, Illinois' 6th place finisher in 2013, returns Saint Louis commit Brandon Harris, Jack Desse, and Logan Ware. The last match of the bracket is a matchup of the 3rd and 4th place finishers in the 2013 Florida Class 3A State Championships. 3rd Place finisher Winter Park (Winter Park, FL) returns Coastal Georgia signee Arthur Viallaneix and add junior Ninan Kumar. Wiregrass Ranch (Wesley Chapel, FL) are led by Agie Moreno, a top 30 recruit in the sophomore class. 

The tournament semi-finals will take place on Saturday at 10:00am at E.P. Sawyer State Park. The 2014 tournament Championship will take place at 2:30pm.

No comments:

Post a Comment