Saturday, February 14, 2015

2015 Boys A Division Bracket Released

The pairings for the 2015 DecoTurf High School Tennis Team Championships Boys A Division presented by Icy Hot have been released. The 16-team division features teams from Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Tennessee. Teams will be guaranteed four matches in tournament play with opening round and quarterfinal play on Friday and Semi-final and final rounds on Saturday.

Two-time defending champion Hinsdale Central (Hinsdale, IL) opens tournament play as the top overall seed in the top quarter of the bracket. The Red Devils have won eight straight matches in tournament play and return four of their top six players from last year. The defending Illinois State Champions will be led by defending tournament MVP and Ohio State signee Martin Joyce, Dartmouth commit Eddie Grabill, Wisconsin commit Lope Adelakun. Hinsdale Central's first round opponent is defending Tennessee Division II Class A State Champion Webb School of Knoxville (Knoxville, TN). The Spartans will make fourth tournament appearance led by Dayton commit Lorenzo Rollhauser and Tennessee's second ranked sophomore Thomas Loaiza.

Cardinal Gibbons (Raleigh, NC) returns to the DecoTurf High School Tennis Team Championships for the fourth time. The Crusaders, who swept the North Carolina Class 3A State Championship in the singles, doubles and team division last season, will be led by Penn State signee Matt Galush. Cardinal Gibbons will meet Pensacola Catholic (Pensacola, FL) in their opening round match. Pensacola Catholic was 18-1 in dual match play last season including a championship performance at the McGill-Toolen Invitational. The Crusaders finished 6th in Florida's Class A State Tournament last year and are led by Top 50 National Recruit Chris Ephron.  
Saint Xavier (Louisville, KY), the tournament's all-time winningest program, will make their sixth straight appearance in the event. The Tigers who won the tournament title in 2010 and were a finalist last year return four of their top six players from last year's Kentucky State Championship team including University of Louisville signee Brandon Lancaster. Saint Xavier will open tournament play against Heritage Hall (Oklahoma City, OK). This will be Heritage Hall's first appearance in the event. The Chargers, defending Oklahoma Class 5A State Champion, will be led by senior Nick Funches and sophomore Miller Zeiders.
The tournament's fourth seed Wiregrass Ranch (Wesley Chapel, FL) is making their second straight appearance in the event. Wiregrass Ranch, defending Florida Class 3A State Champion, finished 14th in the event last year without their top two players. This year the Bulls will be led by juniors Agie Moreno and Pedro Fernandez and return their top three players from last year's event. Wiregrass Ranch will open tournament play against Edmond Memorial (Edmond, OK). The Bulldogs, 2014 Boys B Division Finalist, return four of their top five players from last season. Edmond Memorial, the fourth place finisher in Oklahoma Class 6A last year, is led by seniors Blake Cherry and Jacob Plant.

Memphis University School (Memphis, TN), the third overall seed, will return to the event for the first time since 2013. The Owls finished fifth at the National Invitational High School Team Tennis Tournament last year and third at the DecoTurf High School Tennis Team Championships in 2013. Memphis University School will have to replace their top singles player, but Alabama signee Spencer Richey and Middle Tennessee commit Michael Apple are ready to fill that role. MUS will open tournament play against Edwardsville (Edwardsville, IL). The Tigers finished 12th in last year's event and must replace a pair of Division I recruits. Seniors Kyle Carlson, Jonathan Koons, Joe Mezo and Erik Weiler will look to step up for the Tigers.
Northview (Johns Creek, GA) will be one of only three teams making their first appearance in the event. The Titans had five freshman in their lineup last year wining the Georgia Class 5A State Championship. Northview will be led by sophomores Matt Terry and Jeremy Yuan. The Titans will meet host Baylor (Chattanooga, TN) in their first round match. Baylor, the second winningest program all-time in this year's event, are competing in the event for the fifth straight year. Seniors Chad Woodham, an Austin Peay signee, and Jack Gray will lead the Red Raiders who finished in 10th place in last year's event.
The Mary Institute and Country Day School Rams (St. Louis, MO) will make their second straight appearance in the event. The Rams finished in 8th place last year. MICDS returns four of their top five players including three of Missouri's top four ranked junior Joseph McAllister, Tyler Raclin and Rex Serituk. MICDS will meet McCallie (Chattanooga, TN) in the opening round. McCallie is making their first tournament appearance since 2013. The Blue Tornadoes return four of their top five players from their Tennessee Division II Class AA State Finalist team.

The tournament second seed Spartanburg (Spartanburg, SC) returns every member of their team
that finished 7th at last year's event. The youthful Vikings return highly ranked sophomores Spencer Brown and Chambers Easterling and freshman Bryce Keim. Spartanburg won the South Carolina Class 4A State Championship last season outscoring opponents 29-1. The Vikings will meet Winter Park (Winter Park, FL) in the opening round of play. Winter Park will rely on their senior to try and duplicate their fourth place finish from last year. The Wildcats will be making their third straight appearance in the event led by seniors Will Smyrk and Ninan Kumar, an Army commit.

The 2015 DecoTurf High School Tennis Team Championships title match will be held on Saturday, March 28th at 2:30pm at Champions Tennis Club.

No comments:

Post a Comment