top of page
  • HS Tennis Championships


The 2019 edition of the DecoTurf High School Tennis Team Championships presented by Icy Hot will mark our event’s fifth year in Chattanooga. Our 12th annual tournament will feature 68 teams from 13 states. This year marks the first time in tournament history that the tournament field will not include either the defending Boys A Division or Girls A Division Champion. Our 2019 participants will include a record 21 defending team state champions and 15 defending state finalists. There are 24 seniors that have already committed to play collegiate tennis competing in the event.

The Girls A Division features one of the strongest fields in tournament history. Five defending state champions will headline the 12-team field that includes host and four-time Girls A Division Champion, Baylor. The top seed is Cambridge, 2018 Girls A Division finalist and Georgia Class 6A state finalist. The Bears are led by 4-Star University of Tennessee-Chattanooga signee Jessie Young and Monmouth University signee Ann Spurka. Other top teams include defending Florida Class 3A State Champion Doral Academy, defending Florida Class 1A State Champion Saint Andrew’s and 2018 Georgia Class 7A state finalist Lambert. Doral Academy is led by 4-Star senior Bin Zheng and Blue-Chip underclassmen Valeria Ray, the nation’s 24th ranked 8th grader, and Lauren Kettlewell, the nation’s 12th ranked 6th grader. Saint Andrew’s is led by 4-Star sophomore Sara Snyder and 5-Star 8th grader Manci Pal. Lambert is led by University of Tampa commit Cheyanne Brooks and 4-Star sophomore Brooke Despriet. Other top players include Sacred Heart’s duo of 5-Star sophomore Carrie Beckman and 4-Star sophomore Ellie Eades, Milton’s duo of 4-Star junior Juliana Mascagni and 4-Star freshman Haley Gaudette, Montverde Academy’s senior duo of Luiza Fullana and Middle Tennessee State commit Love-Star Alexis.

The 8-team Girls B Division features a pair of state champions and state finalists led by defending Georgia Class 4A State Champion North Oconee. The Titans are led by sisters Jenna and Lindsay Tulenko. Other top teams include North Oldham and Harpeth Hall. Other top players include Blue-Chip junior Carly Briggs of Calhoun, ranked 12th in the nation, Maggie Nelson (Vestavia Hills), Sophia Shiben (McCracken County), and Emma and Katie Beavin (North Oldham).

The Girls C and D Divisions feature competitively balanced fields. The Girls C Division is led by a pair of Georgia teams in Carrollton and Pace Academy. The 4-team Girls D Division is led by 2018 Alabama Class 4A/5A state finalist Briarwood Christian. Top players in these divisions include 4-Star freshman Cameron Didion (Winter Park), Willa Rogers (Dobyns-Bennett), Kendra Womack (Brookwood)and Sonya Ivashchenko (Carrollton).

The Boys A Division features a talented 12-team field headlined by 6 defending state champions. The top seed is defending Florida Class 2A State Champion Montverde Academy. The Eagles are led by senior Brazilians Bernardo Costa and Bruno Nunes, a Belmont commit. Other top teams include two-time Boys A Division Champion and defending Illinois Class 2A State Champion Hinsdale Central, defending Missouri Class 2 State Champion Rock Bridge and Florida powerhouse Saint Andrew’s. Hinsdale Central is led by Tulane signee Joseph Daw and a trio of 4-Star rated freshman in Mujtaba Ali-Khan, Noah Hernandez, and Dean Kamenev. Rock Bridge is led by the senior Division I signees Jake Fraunfelder and Zach Grueber and 4-Star freshman Max Litton. Saint Andrew’s roster includes 5-Star sophomores Jacob Lowen and Ellis Short and 5-Star 8th grader Leanid Boika. Other top players include the nation’s 19th ranked sophomore and Blue-Chip recruit Baylor Sai (Montgomery Bell), 4-Star senior and Air Force commit Jonathan Mascagni (Milton), Charlotte Country Day’s 4-Star freshman David Saye, McCallie 4-Star freshman Will Leathers and Colin Tuttle, Myers Park seniors Mark Dillon and Sam Dean and the Briarwood Christian duo of 4-Star sophomore Luke Wolf and 5-Star 8th grader Ethan Carr.

The Boys B Division features four defending state champions. The top seed Catholic, defending Louisiana Division I State Champion, is led by three of Louisiana’s top freshman in Aidan Lee, Charles Fremaux and Ashton Ellis. Other top teams include, Oklahoma Class 5A State Champion Heritage Hall and 2018 South Carolina Class 2A state finalist Saint Joseph’s Catholic School. Top players will include Webb School’s Harrison Williams and Ohm Sharma, Trinity’s Brandon Chou and Michael Chou, Will Kaiser (Heritage Hall), Nicholas Loudermilk (St. Joseph’s Catholic), and James McIntosh (George Washington).

The Boys C and D Divisions feature a solid group of competitors. The Boys C Division features a trio of defending state champions in Georgia Class 4A Champion North Oconee, Missouri Class 2 Champion John Burroughs and defending Kentucky Champion Saint Xavier. The Boys D Division is led by 2018 Georgia Class 6A state finalist Dunwoody and 2018 North Carolina Class 4A semifinalist Cardinal Gibbons. Top players in these divisions will include Butler University signee Zach Trimpe (Edwardsville), 4-Star junior Hallet Green (McGill-Toolen), and Brolin Dorsey (TL Hanna), Cole Brainard (Dunwoody), Gabriele Montanari (Edwardsville), Andy Benabe (Winter Park) and Peter Glenn (Cardinal Gibbons).


#hstennis2019 #highschooltennis #Baylor #Cambridge #Doral #SaintAndrews #Lambert #SacredHeart #Milton #Montverde #NorthOconee #NorthOldham #HarpethHall #Calhoun #VestaviaHills #McCrackenCounty #Carrollton #PaceAcademy #BriarwoodChristian #WinterPark #DobynsBennett #Brookwood #HinsdaleCentral #RockBridge #MontgomeryBell #CharlotteCountryDay #MyersPark #Catholic #HeritageHall #SaintJosephsCatholic #WebbSchoolofKnoxville #Trinity #GeorgeWashington #JohnBurroughs #SaintXavier #Dunwoody #CardinalGibbons #Edwardsville #McGillToolen #TLHanna

274 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page